Town Departments

Oakfield Fire Department: Staffed by 16-20 volunteers, who elect their own Chief, Assistant Chief, Captains, and Secretary, with final approval by Oakfield Board of Selectmen.  Besides serving Oakfield, the towns of Dyer Brook, Smyrna, and Merrill have contracted with the town for fire protection services.

Public Works:  The department is responsible for 25 miles of roads for both winter and summer maintenance. The town maintains nearly all of the roads within the village area, and local roads outside the village. 

Transfer Station:  The station is open to town resident only.  Users pay 10 cents per pound to get rid of household trash